Will California's new cellphone law be able to stop distracted driving?

On Jan. 1, California's new cellphone law went into effect. While California already had existing laws that placed limits on drivers when using their cellphones - including a ban on handheld texting-while-driving - this new law is significantly stricter.

In fact, under this new cellphone law, California motorists will not be able to use their phones for any reason if they are behind the wheel, unless they are using their phones in hands-free mode.

Ultimately, the goal of this new law is to keep a driver's attention on the road and off of his or her phone, regardless of whether he or she may be texting, taking photos, streaming videos, playing games, scrolling through music, checking social media or even making phone calls.

However, the law does also outline specific circumstances in which phones may still be used in hands-free mode - although you must meet certain criteria besides simply using your phone hands-free, including:

  • Your phone must be mounted to your dashboard, windshield or center console, and it must not obstruct your view of the road
  • You must be able to activate your cellphone or a specific function by using only a single swipe or a tap of the finger

Even though the penalties for violating this law are not significant - $20 fine for the first offense and $50 fine for each subsequent offense - highway safety advocates nevertheless hope this legislation will make California roads safer. After all, there is no disputing that cellphone use is one of the worst distractions on the roadways today.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Send us an email

Contact Our Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Lead Counsel Rated | LC Best Car Accident Attorneys in San Diego

Our Office Locations

San Diego Office
707 Broadway
Suite 1700
San Diego, CA 92101

Toll Free: 800-941-1111
Phone: 619-431-3248
San Diego Law Office Map

Vista Office
777 West Vista Way
Suite 201
Vista, CA 92083

Phone: 619-431-3248
Vista Law Office Map

map map